About Multiple Sclerosis Foundation

Home > Learn About Multiple Sclerosis > News > Acute MS Now Covered Under SSDI “Compassionate Allowances”

Acute MS Now Covered Under SSDI “Compassionate Allowances”


As of December 2011, the Social Security Administration (SSA) now recognizes “malignant multiple sclerosis” – an acute form of MS – as a condition that qualifies for a “Compassionate Allowance” when considered for SSDI.

According to the SSA website, “Compassionate Allowances (CAL) are a way of quickly identifying diseases and other medical conditions that invariably qualify under the Listing of Impairments based on minimal objective medical information. Compassionate Allowances allow Social Security to quickly target the most obviously disabled individuals for allowances based on objective medical information that we can obtain quickly.”

The National MS Society, whose experts testified at the SSA hearing for inclusion of malignant multiple sclerosis on the Compassionate Allowances list, reports that people with a diagnosis of “aggressive” or “advanced” MS will also qualify for the allowance. 

  Support the MSF
Supporting MSF's programs to help make "a brighter tomorrow" has never been easier.
make a donation 

  Learn About MS
Common symptoms of MS include fatigue, weakness, spasticity, balance problems, bladder and bowel problems, numbness, vision loss, tremors and depression.
learn more 


Unless otherwise specified, all medical content is compiled by MSF staff and reviewed for accuracy by a member of our Medical Advisory Board.

The MSF strives to present clear and unbiased information. This site is partially funded through a grant from Bayer Healthcare, LLC.

© Copyright 2000-2013 Multiple Sclerosis Foundation - All Rights Reserved